My Current Dietary Situation

As you know, I LOVE cheese. LOVE LOVE LOVE it. And ice cream. Oh man.

When my son was born he acted like a devil child for the first 4 weeks. Screaming all. the. time. I thought to myself ‘what the hell have I done??’ at least 5,000 times a day. Then I posted this picture on facebook for his one month birthday with a little cute note:

2015-07-02 09.07.18

This little cutie is 1 Month old today! He has slept 3 1/2 hrs straight, loves to be swaddled, hates baths, eats like a champ, is VERY cranky at night, and has his first little cold. Mommy & Daddy love you Big Cat!

And within the hour I was FLOODED with posts from other moms suggesting I eliminate various things from my diet (my son was and is exclusively breastfed). That was the last day I purposefully ate any dairy (I have on accident a few times since). You guys, it was like we exchanged him at the baby store and brought home a new one. He started smiling, and was happy, and being a mom started to get fun! See, up till that point, when other moms talked about how much fun they were having and how much they loved being a mom I kind’ve thought they’d been sniffing glue. Along the way we’ve figured out that he also can’t handle eggs or soy.

So there you have it. No cheese for me (at least for the foreseeable future)! The beginning was so so hard. I had no idea what to eat. But, it gets easier all the time. And the funny thing is? I feel so much better. I’ve struggled with stomach issues for most of my adult life, and I’ve always had terrible acne. My tummy issues are almost entirely gone. My skin looks better than it has since pre-puberty.

Cooking and baking have becoming entirely new challenges, and I look forward to sharing some of my new creations with you! If I can remember to measure ingredients as I cook, that is :).

Cara

Today’s Workout: Rest Day.

P.S. Yes, Royce has a cleft lip. I’ll get to that more later.

Leave a Reply

